I started over with my peas.  Pulled  all  the bushes up on the 20th and replanted them Monday 22nd.  Oh Boy, the weather here in Florida is scorching.   It has been high 90’s and has even went in the 100’s.  I have to really start out early in the mornings like 6am is a good time for me to beat the heat and sun.  Today Friday 26th I really feel like I got alotdone today.  Starting out with watering of my Okra (cow horn) andfertilizing it.  I did alotof hoeing pulling up weeds from around my okra and my Newly planted tomato bushes.  Then today we had a late afternoon thunderstorm.  That worked out great.   I have always heard okra likes hot weather and plenty of  water.   Today was the first time that I had fertilized it since I planted the okra.  It has got a ways to grow in height yet.  So far so good, it sure is pretty.  The top of the okra is just up to my nose.  I am sure it’s tallness will pass me up because I am only about 5’1″ a short person.   I have cut quite a bit of okra off  the bushes already.  After today with me fertilizing it, I am sure it will take off.  I have always heard that keeping it cut is hard to do .  For instance keeping up  is to cut the okra pods off every single day.   After today since I fertilized it.  I bet I won’t be able to keep up it cut.   I was told by the lady that gave me this okra seed, that if I wanted to save the best seed, that I should  leave  the first 4 pods that grow on the bush, just for seeds.  To  leave them and let them grow, cutting all the rest just above those pods.  This way those pods get the most nutrients and is the first fruits etc.  I didn’t do this though.  Because I also had someone tell me that if you let the okra pods grow longer than expected that it would stunt the bush.   Oh well, this year at loosing all my tomato’s and this being my first year  growing okra.   I thought I would be careful and just try and grow it producing as much okra as I can.  I still have plenty of seed still that Mr and Mrs Deel gave me.  My experience next year will be more successful  I am hoping.  As they say, experience is good. Years of experience is the best.  I know I have a lot to learn.  I might grow for seeds next year.   I know one thing from experience.  Nothing is quite like going out to your on yard and cutting yourself  fresh vegetables to cook and eat.  No matter where you live gardening can be an enjoyable experience.  Big or small.  One of my most best times of the day is when I am  in my garden.  Mostly because I find myself in prayer and at that moment take the chance to look around and see nature for what the Lord has intended  us to see from all that he created.  We all are to enjoy his creations.  I must say my garden is where God’s at,  for me this is where  I always feel his presence a peacefulness of nature all around me while I am  in the garden.  Thankful for such beauty he has created.  God is an awesome God!

 

