GardenBuddies“Greens” Broadleaf Mustard

Today while roaming through my garden admiring the Mustard Greens that I planted back on September 26th .  I am proud.  They are beautiful. The weather here in Florida isn’t as cool as it needs to be for these Mustard.  They are so big.  To me they are ready to be harvested but I am going to wait a couple more days. I just watered them yesterday, because they were looking on the wilted side by noon time, this is tipical once the temperature outside reaches the 70′s. And this time of year it always does.  I always water early morning hours, before the sun comes out.

Of all the greens to plant, these are my favorite in their beauty. I can see now why they are called  Broadleaf Mustard.  They are such a small seed that when you sprinkle them into the ground they are hard to see.  One seed provides many leaves that grow to many and wide leaves.  The seed being so small when sowed makes it hard if you apply too many seed in one spot.  This is what I normally do, such as too many in one spot.  Then I have to thin them out, giving their leaves room to grow.  I found out last year when I planted too many seed in one spot was very bad.  I learnt a good lesson.  I don’t like to thin out the greens.  Lesson learned.  This year I was very careful to try and drop one seed at a time. I sowed them very thin.  Then I didn’t have do transplant plants so much. Great Job I did.  Pat myself on the back.   I only had to  transplanted a very few plants.  Much easier on me than last year. When I think of a Mustard Seed. I think of where Jesus said we should have the faith as a grain of mustard seed.  That’s a lot. Faith victorian Rose basket

Matthew 17:20 Reads:   And Jesus said unto them, “Because of your unbelief:  for verily I say unto you, If ye have faith as a grain of mustard see, ye shall say unto this mountain, Remove hence to yonder place; and it shall remove; and nothing shall be impossible unto you.

Broadleaf  Mustard (Florida) Date of Picture 11/02/09

DSC07876

The ‘Florida Broadleaf’ Mustard plant is a large, semi-upright plant that can be grown by anybody. Not only can the plant reach up to 10” in height and 22” in spread the rich green leaves emit a fragrance that will entice everyone. This variety is very popular in the South.

Flavor Mustard is widely known for its sharp flavor. This characteristic flavor is an essential component of many dressings and sauces world-wide. Unlike other “hot” flavors, the flavor profile of mustard does not linger. Rather it presents itself quickly, dissipates, and leaves little or no after-taste.

For more info on  BROADLEAF MUSTARD GREENS.

